What does kiosk mode do?

Kiosk mode turns your iPad or iPhone into an instant photo sharing kiosk.

  • It prevents backing out of the current event, so guests are forced to stay in the context of the current event.
  • It removes all sharing options except for email, since none of the other sharing options make sense on a public device.
  • It hides the event edit button as well as the trash can icon so guests cannot edit event details or delete photos.
  • It ensures the iPad/iPhone does not go to sleep (screen will stay bright and it won’t lock). Combine this with Guided Access mode provided by iOS and you can completely prevent people from exiting the kiosk.

Enabling kiosk mode

  1. Open Flassh on your iPad or iPhone
  2. Tap the event you want to create a photo sharing kiosk for
  3. Tap and hold the top navigation bar to enable kiosk mode

Exiting kiosk mode

  1. To exit kiosk mode, tap and hold the top navigation bar and type your Flassh account password. (Alternatively, open your app launcher and swipe up on the Flassh app to close it. Once you re-open the app, it'll be out of kiosk mode)

Configure printing in kiosk mode

By default, printing is disabled in kiosk mode. To configure printing for the kiosk, ensure you are signed into your account and viewing the relevant event with kiosk mode disabled.

  1. Tap the triple-dot edit button on the right side of the screen and choose the “Edit kiosk settings” option in the menu.
  2. To enable kiosk printing and expose the other available options, flip the “Kiosk printing” switch to on. Choose a nearby AirPrint-enabled printer. We’ll scan your network for available printers and present them in a list, tap the printer that should be used for kiosk prints.
  3. If your event has an overlay, you have the option to include it on all kiosk prints. Flip the switch to on if you’d like the overlay visible on prints. If your event does not contain a overlay, this option has no effect.
  4. Press the back button at the top left to return to your event. Then enable kiosk mode.

Prevent exiting the app with Guided Access

iOS ships with a feature called Guided Access that can temporarily restrict your iOS device to a single application. Tapping the home button or the power button will keep the application open, preventing kiosk guests from exiting to the home screen or opening other applications. Learn more about Guided Access.

Did this answer your question?